About NEET

What is NEET?

The national eligibility cum entrance test (NEET) is a common, national-level entrance test conducted by CBSE that offers admissions to both UG and PG students in all government, private and deemed medical institutions across the country. NEET UG offers approximately 90000 seats for all MBBS and BDS courses in various institutions. in compliance withe the supreme court ruling of 2016, the NEET UG exam replaces the AIPMT and all other state-based entrance tests for admisssion into medical and dental institutions. It is an offline exam that follows the conventional paper-pen method.

Where are NEET scores accepted?

NEET scores are accepted in all government, private and deemed medical and dental institutions in the country and is the sole qualifying criteria for admissions into these institutions except for AIIMS and JIPMER which conduct their own entrance exams. Following is a brief simplification of how the neet scores are accepted in colleges nation-wide:

●  15% All India Quota seats in Government (medical and dental colleges) in all states and UTs of India. the admission to these seats is done via online counselling by the Directorate General of Health Services(DGHS) on behalf of the Medical Counselling Committee (MCC).
●  85% State Quota seats for MBBS and BDS admis-sions in all states and UTs of India, led by the Director of Medical Education for their respective states.
●  MBBS and BDS seats in all private and deemed medical colleges across the country including minority institutions such as CMC Vellore and CMC Ludhiana etc.This is also done by the DGHS based on the NEET Merit List.
● MBBS and BDS seats in Armed Forces Medical Col- lege (AFMC), Banaras Hindu University (BHU) and Aligarh Muslim University (AMU)

However, merely appearing and qualifying in NEET does not guarantee admissions in MBBS/BDS Courses. The selection and admission to MBBS/BDS seats in any Medical Institution recognized for offering MBBS/BDS courses is subject to fulfilling the admission criteria, eligibility, rank in merit list, medical fitness and such other criteria as may be prescribed by the CBSE, the Medical Council of India (MCI), respective states, Universities and medical/ dental colleges.



Implementation of NEET

The implementation of NEET, which is a single entrance exam for admission to all MBBS/BDS programmes all across the country has successully centralized the process of admission to these courses and replaced the need for multiple admission tests and counselling procedures. It has nullified more than 90 medical entrance exams in india with the slight exception of AIIMS and JIPMER and has reduced the cost burden on students and their parents who would earlier apply for 15-20 exams from anywhere between Rs. 30,000 and Rs. 40,000 to one centralized exam at a negligible cost. The implementation of NEET also minimizes travel hassles and brings about transparency in the admission process.

Common syllabus

NEET has made the entrance exam syllabus common for all candidates, irrespective of their board of higher secondary examination. The common syllabus is prescribed by CBSE for NEET UG and by the MCI for NEET PG. This reduces the burden on aspirants of having to cover various syllabuses for their preparation. Thie common syllabus for NEET also puts uniformity in evaluation process by establishing the same parameters for checking the competency level of candidates across country. The NEET question paper is also made available in some regional languages to facilitate candidates who did not follow English as a medium of instruction.